Carisma, Pohnpei, and Creighton

15991659_1342646052477224_1398326201_o

Hi everyone,

My name is Carisma Jano and I am a freshmen student here at   the Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. I am a Political Science major, and I am still deciding on what to minor in.  I was born and raised on the tiny island of Pohnpei, one of the four Pacific islands that compose the Federated States of Micronesia. A lot of people don’t know where or what Pohnpei is but that doesn’t bother me at all because I love talking about the world’s best-kept secret. If you ever need an escape from traffic noise, crowded cities, or the busy life of a developed country, then I suggest you take a trip to Micronesia for some good island therapy. A fun fact about me is that I have 13 siblings and I am the 8th in line. I enjoy hiking, coloring, writing, and Starbucks’s exclusive chai lattés. I have goals of going to law school, hiking a mountain somewhere in the United States, and traveling to the Philippines.

sokehsy

               Image by Rodger Springsteen          The mountain in the background called the Sokehs Rock is one of my favorite hiking places.  

My older sister, a Creighton alumni, pursued a BA degree in Graphic Design while she was a student here.  She spoke very highly of Creighton’s Department of Journalism and would always recommend that I try a course.  Last semester, my RSP advisor also recommended that I sign up for Journalism courses since I wanted to go to law school. Considering all the given advice and my passion for writing, I decided to register for a Journalism class.  I’m very excited to see what this class has to offer and the great things I’ll learn from it.

If you ever take a picture with me, please be aware that my Facebook name, Snapchat name, and my IG handle is included with the package. Rarely will you receive a picture from me through a text message, email, etc. Yes, I am a social media geek. Sometimes I wish never became affiliated with any form of social media because this convenient platform of communication has been a primary distraction for me. On the other hand, Facebook brought me to find some of my long lost family members which I am very grateful for.  Social media has made many things a lot more convenient and possible.

I spend more time browsing social media and is also where I find links to the latest news articles.  The one thing that I dislike about the news media is it grossly exposes certain things about people that I feel should not be broadcasted to the entire public for the sake of privacy and a person’s dignity. But, the news media and journalists have done a great job in keeping the public informed and updated.

Our world is advancing into its most modern era through the conveniences offered by media and technology. I feel that a world that will one day be fully immersed in media would result in no personal privacy because everything about everyone could be easily found with the click of a button.  For instance, I recently had a terrible experience with a scam and lost quite a lot of money.  The scammers knew my current address and where I was from which made me believe they were legitimate government workers.  I hope that someday, a law would be passed to prohibit the publication of personal information on any open website. However, the media has been a great source of expansive communication and connections.

I just hope that one day robots aren’t running our planet! This would be my first Journalism class.  I have no experience with programming or HTML basics but, hopefully I get to learn some of that in this class.  I look forward to learning a lot in this class.  I hope for a fun, exciting, and writing full semester!

Leave a Reply

